Coming Out of the Cancer Closet (EN + PT)

My story and how you can help

Lara da Rocha
7 min readMay 11, 2021

Last Update: 25 December 2021

Donation link / Link para doação: https://www.facebook.com/lara.vazpato/posts/5380320295317074

Photo by Lara da Rocha.

[Nota: Versão Portuguesa a seguir]

I wish the worst thing about the year 2020 for me had been the global pandemic. But in January 2020, I was diagnosed with Stage IV ALK+ Lung Cancer. It’s not curable. It was the last thing I thought would ever happen to me: a healthy 31-year-old. Until then, I’d been cautiously leading a virtuous millennial lifestyle of daily salads and abstaining from the latest things that science had uncovered to be detrimental to your health. Needless to say: I do not believe in karma anymore.

How did it all start, Lara?

It all started when I noticed I felt increasingly short of breath while going for a walk or a swim. After several weeks of thinking, “I’m just a bit tired,” I went to the doctor. I found out that my right lung was full of fluid. They tested it, and with wide eyes, the pulmonologist gave me the news: “It’s cancer.” It was also lung cancer — the cancer that causes the most deaths in the World. It was also Stage IV, which means it’s metastasized, and can’t be cured. Oh, and did I tell you that my dad died the same week I was diagnosed? Man, that was some week.

You might be thinking, “Why did this happen to her?” That’s all I could think of when I got the news. I asked the doctor, “Was it second-hand smoke? My parents smoked a lot. Or is it because my dad had lung cancer? Or did I do something wrong?” I wanted answers. I needed to know who or what I should blame for this terrible mistake in my life. Even though it didn’t make any difference (I already had cancer!), I wanted something to make me feel in control. But the doctor said, “The type of cancer you have is… Just bad luck.”

What’s all this about ALK+? And how do you treat it?

The type of cancer that I have has no known cause. If you have lungs, you can get it. It’s called ALK-positive lung cancer because it’s driven by a genetic mutation of the ALK gene. Unlike other types of lung cancer, it disproportionately impacts women under the age of 50. You can find lots more information here.

Even though there is currently no cure for my cancer, certain treatments can extend my lifespan. I was first put on targeted therapy medication, which inhibits the defective ALK protein, allowing me to live a pretty normal life. It was great, but after a year the tumor cells acquired resistance to the medication, and I am now on a chemo + immunotherapy treatment. Eventually, that will stop working as well. The currently available therapies will ultimately be exhausted. That is the unfortunate reality that I live with. But hey, maybe we can change that! (see more about that in the next section)

The progress made in the last decade on ALK+ cancer treatment has been astonishing. It has allowed patients to live several years longer than before. The medication I started on (Alectinib) was only approved for use in 2017!

That all sounds very interesting, Lara, but I don’t think I can make a difference. What can I do?

Lung cancer research is severely underfunded, in part due to the persisting stigma that lung cancer is a smoker’s disease. But continued survival for me, and tens of thousands of others, is dependent on advances in medical research to develop better diagnostics and better treatments. And it’s because I want to live as long as I can, with as much quality of life as possible, that I’m helping raise funds that will benefit ALK+ research.

How to help

You can donate here: https://www.facebook.com/lara.vazpato/posts/5380320295317074.

Any donated amount is highly appreciated. If you can’t pay through the payment methods offered, reach out to me, and we’ll figure something out. :)

100% of your donation will be used to support high-impact research that seeks to improve outcomes for ALK+ cancer patients. This research has the potential to transform ALK-positive lung cancer into a chronic (and maybe someday, curable) condition (direct quote from the ALK Positive organization). Wow, I know, it’s incredible!

The donated money will be managed by the non-profit ALK Positive. This highly reputable organization exclusively funds ALK-positive lung cancer research. Here you can see some of the research they have funded in the past (including a project to develop an ALK vaccine for patients who already have it!).

Thank you for reading until this point and being more informed about lung cancer and my story!

Versão Portuguesa

Gostaria que o pior de 2020 para mim tivesse sido a pandemia. Mas em janeiro de 2020 fui diagnosticada com Cancro do Pulmão ALK+, estágio IV. Não tem cura. Era a última coisa que pensava que me poderia acontecer. Até então eu era uma millennial de 31 anos, a levar uma vida virtuosa e cautelosa — a comer salada todos os dias e abster-me de todas as coisas que a ciência indica como sendo prejudiciais à saúde. Escusado será dizer: já nāo acredito em karma.

Como é que tudo começou, Lara?

Tudo começou em Janeiro de 2020, quando reparei que ficava com falta de ar ao fazer caminhadas ou natação. Depois de várias semanas a pensar “estou apenas cansada”, fui ao médico e descobri que o meu pulmão direito estava cheio de fluido. Depois de testarem o fluido, o médico explicou: “É cancro.” Em particular, cancro do pulmão, o cancro que mais mortes causa no Mundo. Em particular, cancro em Estágio IV, o que significa que está metastizado, e por isso não pode ser curado. Hm, já mencionei que o meu pai morreu na mesma semana do meu diagnóstico? Foi uma semana tramada…

Poderás estar a pensar “Por que é que isto aconteceu?”, foi exatamente o que pensei quando recebi a notícia. Perguntei ao médico “Foi fumo passivo? Os meus pais fumavam muito… Ou foi porque o meu pai teve cancro do pulmão? Ou fui eu que fiz algo de errado?” Eu queria respostas. Eu queria saber quem ou o que é que tinha culpa deste acontecimento absurdo na minha vida. Apesar de não fazer diferença nessa altura (já tinha cancro!), queria algo que me fizesse sentir sob controlo… Mas o médico disse “O tipo de cancro que tens é… puro azar.”

O que é afinal ALK+? E como é tratado?

O tipo de cancro que tenho não tem causa conhecida. Se tens pulmões, podes ter… É conhecido por cancro do pulmão ALK-positivo, porque é gerado por uma mutação genética no gene ALK. Ao contrário de outros tipos de cancro do pulmão, este afeta mais mulheres abaixo dos 50 anos. Podes encontrar muito mais informação aqui. Atualmente não existe cura para o meu cancro, mas a minha esperança de vida pode ser alargada com determinados tratamentos. O meu primeiro tratamento foi com targeted therapy medication, que inibe a proteína ALK anormal, e que me permitiu viver uma vida bastante normal. Foi ótima, mas passado um ano as células cancerígenas adquiriram resistência a esta medicação, e neste momento estou a ser tratada com quimio + imunoterapia. Eventualmente, este tratamento também deixará de ser eficaz. Os tratamentos disponíveis à data não permitem uma gestão crónica da doença… Essa é a realidade. Mas hey, talvez consigamos mudar isso! (mais sobre isto a seguir)

Os avanços na investigação sobre tratamento do cancro ALK+ na última década foram impressionantes. Permitiram dar mais vários anos de vida aos pacientes. Sabiam que a primeira medicação que tomei (Alectinib) só foi aprovada em 2017?

Parece muito interessante, Lara, mas acho que não vou conseguir fazer diferença… O que posso fazer?

Apesar de o cancro do pulmão ser o cancro que mais mortes causa em homens e mulheres, a sua investigação sofre de uma falta de financiamento considerável, em parte devido ao estigma que persiste de que o cancro do pulmão é uma “doença de fumadores”. Mas a minha sobrevivência, e de dezenas de milhares de outras pessoas, está dependente de avanços na investigação para desenvolver melhores diagnósticos e tratamentos mais eficazes. E é exatamente porque eu quero viver o máximo de anos possível, com a melhor qualidade de vida, que estou a ajudar a angariar fundos para a investigação ALK+.

Como ajudar

Podes doar aqui: https://www.facebook.com/lara.vazpato/posts/5380320295317074.

Qualquer valor doado conta. Se não conseguires fazê-lo através das opções disponíveis, fala comigo para encontrarmos uma solução. :)

100% da tua contribuição irá ser usado para apoiar investigação de elevado impacto que procura melhorar a vida dos pacientes com cancro ALK+, e tem o potencial de transformar o cancro do pulmão ALK-positivo numa condição crónica (e, um dia, curável) (citação da organização ALK Positive). Incrível, não é?

O valor doado será gerido pela organização sem fins lucrativos ALK Positive. Esta organização altamente reputada financia exclusivamente investigação sobre cancro do pulmão ALK-positivo. Aqui podes descobrir parte da investigação que financiaram recentemente (inclui um projecto para desenvolvimento de uma vacina para o cancro ALK-Positivo para pacientes com este tipo de cancro!).

Muito obrigada por teres lido até ao fim!

--

--

Lara da Rocha

Writer | MWC Semi-finalist | Improviser | Data Analyst | She/Her. I convert my bad luck into stories (to convince myself there is a point to any of this).